Committee Chairs

Continuing Professional Development

Nichola Chitson, Chair of CPD Committee & CPD Co-ordinator

This committee overseas the extensive programme of professional development offered to staff in all schools. The aim is to offer courses and programmes to improve skills, understanding and confidence in supporting pupils with SEND. The committee also organises the annual TADSS conference for TADSS schools and subscribers.





School to School Support

Diane Makariou, Chair of School to School Support & Acting Headteacher of Beaucroft Foundation School

This committee oversees a range of activities across TADSS schools and their partnerships, linking subject areas and creating networks to share good practice and resources.  TADSS Outreach services are part of the support offered from our special schools to mainstream settings.  There is also work undertaken in school improvement from National and Specialist Leaders of Education.





Initial Teacher Training

Karen Bidwell – Deputy Head of Westfield Arts College & Chair of Initial Teacher Training Committee

 The ITT committee meets 3 times each year.  The members of the committee are:

-The 5 special schools
-A partner school head teacher representing the partnership
-The University of Exeter
-Independent consultant

The work of the committee is focus on the provision of the TADSS PGCE School Direct programme, student placements, mentoring and support packages, Liaison with Higher Education Institutions (HEI) liaison, NQT induction and other matters relating to Initial teacher training



Leadership Development

Gill Howard – Acting Headteacher of Yewstock School and Chair of Leadership Development Committee

This committee oversees training and support for school leaders at all levels.  It aims to encourage potential leaders and develop leadership skills through coaching, internship experiences and relevant training events.




Research and Development

Mark Holloway – Chair of the Research and Development Committee and  Teacher at Westfield Arts College

This committee oversees the exploration and sharing of the latest research in education for SEND, including projects created by staff in TADSS schools. Projects can be large or small, ranging from teaching tips to published work.